Quantum Cowboys

Director Geoff Marslett in person!

Quantum Cowboys

The film, which competes in the Contrechamps strand, is a captivating out West fever dream that takes place across a surreal frontier. A patchwork tapestry of time and space, it follows the ill-fated duo Frank (Kiowa Gordon) and Bruno (John Way) on an inter-dimensional search for redemption along infinite timelines.

An ambitious collaboration, characters are conceived in 8K and 16MM live-action and across 12 different animation techniques that include stop-motion animation, hand-drawn digital rotoscoping, acrylic paintings combined with live-action characters, digital collage, CGI 3D animation, and hand-drawn traditional 2D animation.

Written by Marslett and Howe Gelb, the film fuses quantum physics and Americana with a heady journey, while toying with our understanding of reality.

Rounding out the ensemble are Arquette and Frank Mosley as the divinely sinister duo of cross-time swindlers Colfax and Depew, as well as Gary Farmer (Calvin), Alex Cox (Fr. John Kino), the late Anna Karina (Inspiration), and Broadway luminary Patrick Page (Memory), who ties all existential themes together as narrator.

— Holly Jones, Variety

Quantum Cowboys

Mon December 5, 2022, 7:30 PM, Muenzinger Auditorium

United States of America, 2022, 105 min

Director: Geoff Marslett, Writer: Geoff Marslett, Howe Gelb, Cast: David Arquette, Trieste Kelly Dunn, Gary Farmer, John Doe, Alex Cox



10 films for $60 with punch card
$9 general admission. $7 w/UCB student ID, $7 for senior citizens
$1 discount to anyone with a bike helmet
Free on your birthday! CU Cinema Studies students get in free.


Pay lot 360 (now only $1/hour!), across from the buffalo statue and next to the Duane Physics tower, is closest to Muenzinger. Free parking can be found after 5pm at the meters along Colorado Ave east of Folsom stadium and along University Ave west of Macky.


Park elsewhere and catch the HOP to campus

International Film Series

(Originally called The University Film Commission)
Established 1941 by James Sandoe.

First Person Cinema

(Originally called The Experimental Cinema Group)
Established 1955 by Carla Selby, Gladney Oakley, Bruce Conner and Stan Brakhage.

C.U. Film Program

(AKA The Rocky Mountain Film Center)
First offered degrees in filmmaking and critical studies in 1989 under the guidance of Virgil Grillo.

Celebrating Stan

Created by Suranjan Ganguly in 2003.

C.U. Department of Cinema Studies & Moving Image Arts

Established 2017 by Chair Ernesto Acevedo-Muñoz.

Thank you, sponsors!
Boulder International Film Festival
Department of Cinema Studies & Moving Image Arts

Looking for a gift for a friend?
Buy a Frequent Patron Punch Card for $60 at any IFS show. With the punch card you can see ten films (a value of $90).

Cox & Kjølseth
: Filmmaker Alex Cox & Pablo Kjølseth discuss film topics from their own unique perspectives.

: Pablo and Ana share Zoom-based briefs on what's currently playing at IFS

Search IFS schedules

Index of visiting artists

Wed Sep 27, 2023

Thank You for Smoking

At Muenzinger Auditorium

Sat Oct 28, 2023


At Muenzinger Auditorium

more on 35mm...